i love the 80’s

I was born at the tail end of the eighties and was surrounded by my mother’s favorite music. While she liked Led Zepplin, Queen, and Elvis Costello, and later, bands like Pearl Jam, a good majority of the music that stuck with me would be classified under new wave and the new romanticism movement. [to be fair, I do quite enjoy those “other bands” listed above.] Well, I have rediscovered the music for myself.

I had been noticing that many contemporary bands I listen to with friends harken back to Morrissey and The Smiths or Duran Duran, etc. But mostly Morrissey.

How does this have anything to do with photography, you ask? Or have I once again lost my focus? — The answer: because I am a total dork.

Lately, when I have been working in the darkroom, I’ve been listening to my iPod. Yesterday, I switched from my “chamber pop” playlist to a Pandora station, namely Duran Duran. It was amazing. The whole wonderful [4 hour] process became instantly more vogue. At times, I felt as though I was in the middle of my own photography montage, a la a John Hughes film. It was brilliant.

Leave a Reply

