surprisingly homesick

I am having a terrific time abroad right now, but I really miss home. I miss my people. terribly. I am fortunate enough to have a dear friend and a handful of new friends to help keep me sane, but I miss my momma.
I was walking through London’s National Gallery the other day and realized how much I would love to view these magnificent works of art with my mother, an artist. Surat, Degas, etc. I then happened upon a particular painting that, to my knowledge, I had never seen before. It was an exotic still life. The colors suddenly reminded me very much of my mom and I fell to pieces.

I also miss the food back home.
It’s funny. Going to college in my hometown ensures that I almost constantly am surrounded by the same food. I spent much of last semester completely burnt-out on the local fare. When I get home, I will have to pace my eating out. Or have someone pace me.
I miss good southern cookin. The KFC in London, while faithfully serving orginal recipe, does not serve slaw, biscuits, or mashed potatoes and gravy. That hurts. The Big Macs are bland and only have a nickle-sized dollop of special sauce. It isn’t a Big Mac without the special sauce!
When I get back, don’t be surprised if I attempt to consume my weight in biscuits and gravy.
Yeah. I miss it that much.

Leave a Reply

